Kappa Alpha Theta

Quick Facts

Nickname: Theta
Founding: DePauw University in 1870
Local Founding: April 30, 1921
Symbol: Kite
Colors: Black and Gold
Flower: Black and Gold Pansy
National Philanthropy: Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)

Chapter President: Abby Hall


1335 34th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50311

Kappa Alpha Theta was the first greek-letter organization for women. The organization currently has more than 145 chapters in the United States and Canada.  Notable national alumnae include singers Sheryl Crow and Amy Grant, fashion designed Tory Burch, first lady Laura Bush and her daughter Jenna, and Olympic gymnast Kerri Strug. 

Drake's Beta Kappa Chapter was awarded the Golden Kite Award at their 2016 Grand Convention, an award awarded to 15 chapters within their international fraternity. Beta Kappa also received awards for Top Service & Philanthropy Chapter. Kappa Alpha Theta also held Fraternity and Sorority Life's highest GPA for Spring 2016 with a 3.61 chapter average. In 2016 they were awarded Drake's Outstanding Programming Award as well as Outstanding Harm Reduction and Risk Management Award.